Sons Of Jacob Open House

(6.25) With klezmer and snacks and some eye-popping architectural treasures. Hosted by Doors Open RI this event provides an opportunity to learn the history of the Sons of Jacob Synagogue, where a small group continues to worship, and their plans for the future. The original synagogue dates to 1906 when there was a large Jewish community in the area.

We will have a rare opportunity to explore the synagogue, including the second floor sanctuary built in 1922. Though the upstairs worship space hasn’t been used in a decade, when the lights are turned on it transforms into a jewel box unlike anything else in Providence. Unique murals depicting animals, trompe-l’oeil scenery, and the Jewish zodiac glow in the warm light of dozens of lightbulbs and a crystal chandelier. All are invited to join this open house event to enjoy klezmer music and snacks and learn about the synagogue’s history, its neighborhood, and plans for the future.

DORI promises “an extra special welcome from the boundlessly energetic president of the synagogue, Harold Silverman.”

Free open house, noon to 3pm, Sunday, June 25, Sons of Jacob Synagogue, 24 Douglas Avenue, (directions)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Providence Daily Dose